Almond Cookies

Zara:

Once, I bought a jar of almond butter on impulse. I think it was because the supermarket was out of my favourite Adam’s Natural Creamy Peanut Butter.

My favourite peanut butter!

And the almond butter looked like an able replacement for my beloved peanut butter! Once I got home, I cracked open the jar and had a good 10 minutes of fun stirring the oil that had separated from the top into the rest of the jar. And then, it was time to dip my spoon in, as I always do with peanut butter and nutella (: I guess the almond butter was nice enough, but for me it’s sort of an acquired taste! The texture is slightly grittier than peanut butter, and the taste is definitely more mild. It just doesn’t have the same savoury taste you get when you put a huge spoon of peanut butter straight from the jar into your mouth! Then again, I might be slightly biased as I am a self-professed peanut butter addict.
So I had to come up with a use for the almond butter, since I probably wouldn’t be eating it with my oatmeal or sandwich or whatever anytime soon. And then it hit me: ALMOND COOKIES! During Chinese New Year, there’s this almond cookies that is sold that is so almond-ey and buttery that it just melts in your mouth! It probably also has a ton of butter in it but hey, festivals are for celebration and eating right? (: Anyway, I started trawling the internet for a healthy almond recipe. And I realised that there are ALOT of almond cookie recipes! After going through quite a few, I decided on this one because it seemed more fuss-free than some of the other recipes, and the pictures were really nice!
Almond Butter Cookies 
Yields about 2 trays of  cookies, depending on the amount of dough in each cookie. Mine were about 1 tablespoon.

Adapted from bakeaholic.ca 

1 Cup + 2 heaping Tablespoons All-Purpose Flour (can also use wholewheat) 
1/2 Teaspoon Baking Soda
1/4 Teaspoon Baking Powder
1/2 Cup Butter, Room Temperature
3/4 Cup Almond Butter
1/2 Cup Brown Sugar
1/4 Cup Sugar
1 Egg
1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
Preheat oven to 350.
In a bowl whisk together the flour, baking soda, baking powder. Working with a stand mixer, fitted with a paddle attachment, beat the butter on medium until smooth and creamy.
Add the almond butter, mix on slow and add the sugars.
Add the egg, mixing well. Scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl with a spatula or wooden spoon, and on low speed, add the dry ingredients, mixing until just combined. It will look smooth, and should not be crumbling.
Use a tablespoon to scoop dough and then roll the dough into smooth round balls using the palm of your hand.
Place on the backing sheet. Using a fork, press the tines into the top of the cookie, to make the signature criss cross pattern, flattening it just slightly. You can also top it with a single almond at this point.
Bake for 12 minutes, until slightly browned and just about set in the center.
Carefully transfer the cookies to a cooling rack. Make sure they are fully cooled before storing
These cookies were really good! Although not as buttery as the ones we eat during Chinese New Year (probably because I put WAY less butter than used in those cookies!) but the almond flavour was really prominent! They were also crispy, because I left them in for a minute or 2 more than the 12 minutes that was called for in the recipe, as I prefer my cookies crisp rather than soft. This recipe is really good, and I’ll probably try it with peanut butter sometime soon!
This entry was posted in Cookies, Dessert, Healthy, Quick/Easy, Recipe (Baking/Cooking), Snack, Vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

